Loading Events

Among the challenges facing 21st-century psychoanalysis is the task of integrating our various theoretical schools. Hans Loewald is a pioneer of this endeavor.

Loewald’s emphasis on the fundamental role of internalization combines object relations, drive theory, self-concepts, and the socio-cultural history of an individual. Throughout his writing, Loewald views mind as an open system and the analytic relationship as an interpsychic experience developmentally grounded in the mother–infant matrix. He conceives of the analyst’s task as holding in safe-keeping the image of the individual that he or she can become. In his model of therapeutic action, Loewald understands the analyst’s interpretations as conveying not only insight, but also a new object relational experience. The original objects – the ghosts that haunt present day life – are thus gradually transformed into ancestors.

Loewald’s ongoing, internal dialogue with Freud and others brought him to his remarkably prescient synthesis. In the same spirit of dialogue, this conference and future Loewald Center events will continue to strive toward a 21st century radically integrative vision for our theoretical and clinical work.


Keynote speakers: Nancy Chodorow and Jonathan Lear

Additional Speakers: Rosemary Balsam, Elizabeth Brett, Chris Christian, Lawrence Friedman, Adrienne Harris, Margery Kalb, Gil Katz, Lawrence Levenson, Seymour Moscovitz, Warren Poland, Doris Silverman, Matthew von Unwerth, Jeanine Vivona


The Hans W. Loewald Center

Founders: Margery Kalb, Gil Katz, Seymour Moscovitz.
Executive Board: Rosemary Balsam, Elizabeth Brett, Chris Christian, Margery Kalb, Gil Katz, Lawrence Levenson, Seymour Moscovitz, Doris Silverman, Matthew von Unwerth.
Advisory Board: Sheldon Bach, Alan Bass, Phyllis Beren, Nancy Chodorow, Steven Cooper, Simon Critchley, Andrew Druck, Caroline Loewald Farnham, Gerald Fogel, Lawrence Friedman, Adrienne Harris, Theodore Jacobs, Marsha Levy-Warren, Alfred Marguiles, Paolo Migone, Michael Moskowitz, Donna Orange, Warren Poland, Jeanine Vivona, Joel Whitebook.
Program Committee Chairs: Natasha Black, Barbara Marcus, Masha Mimran.


   Date: November 14, 2020

   Time: 9AM-5PM

   Location: The New York Psychoanalytic Institute


Tickets (Lunch included in all prices):

                                                   Before September 1          Before October 15          After October 15/On-Site
General Admission                            160                                   180                                     200
IPTAR/WNE/LC Members                   150                                   160                                     190
Candidates                                          85                                     90                                     100
Grad Students                                     55                                     60                                      65


CE & CME Credits
IPTAR is a New York State approved provider of CE credits for Licensed Social Workers, Licensed Psychoanalysts, Licensed Creative Arts Therapists. 6 CE Credits will be granted to participants who have registered, have documented evidence of attendance of the entire program, and have completed the online evaluation form. Upon completion of the evaluation form, a Certificate of Completion will be emailed to all participants who comply with these requirements.


73 available
WNE/IPTAR/LC Members$150

Please fill in all required fields

73 available
General Admission Early Bird Before 9/1$160

Please fill in all required fields

73 available
Students/Candidates & Early Professionals$85Trainees/Candidates and early career professionals (less than 5 years out of grad school – please send proof of enrollment)

Please fill in all required fields

73 available
Grad Students$55Grad students (please send proof of enrollment)

Please fill in all required fields